## Minutes of the

# **DEPARTMENT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

June 25, 2020 (Teleconference)

# CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 p.m. by President Jane Larson

## **OPENING CEREMONIES**

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Sue Waldhaus (Unit 28) and seconded by Susan Caswell (Unit 33) to dispense with opening ceremonies except for the prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Prayer was offered by Chaplain Colleen Newman

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

# ROLL CALL

## PRESENT:

NATIONAL OFFICERS National Executive Committee Member Penny Mazonna Alternate National Executive Committee Member Sue Diaz

## **OFFICERS**

President Jane Larson 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Anarene Robinson Secretary Barbara Nath Sergeant-at-Arms Lori Fruhwirth Chaplain Colleen Newman Historian April Sinclair Executive Committee Member Zona Gregg Minutes of the DEC Meeting June 25, 2020 Page 2 of 5

#### **<u>ROLL CALL (continued)</u>**

#### <u>PRESENT</u>

STANDING COMMITTEES
Americanism Chair Kathy Moore
Audit Chair Sue Diaz
Auxiliary Emergency Fund Chair Zona Gregg
Children and Youth Chair April Sinclair
Community Service Chair Frances Bedel
Constitution and ByLaws Chair Sue Diaz
Distinguished Guests Chair Penny Mazonna
History Chair April Sinclair
Leadership Chair Sue Caswell
Legislative Chair Penny Mazonna
Membership Chair Yvonne Lamm
National Security Chair Penny Mazonna
Poppy Chair Margaret Blankenship
Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation (VA&R) Chair Anarene Robinson

### UNITS

Joseph T. Craig Unit 3 Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6 Dorman H. Baker Unit 11 Lynn C anal Unit 12 Matanuska Valley Unit 15 George H. Plumley Unit 20 Spenard Unit 28 Muldoon Unit 29 Peters Creek Unit 33 Susitna Valley Unit 35 C. Russell Huber Unit 57

## PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Susan Caswell Lisa Williamson Margaret Blankenship Penny Mazonna Sue Waldhaus Sue Diaz Linda Schmitt Minutes of the DEC Meeting June 25, 2020 Page 3 of 5

# **ROLL CALL (continued)**

#### EXCUSED

OFFICERS Treasurer Diana Estrada Executive Committee Member Frances Bedel

STANDING COMMITTEES National Security Chair Francis Bedel

PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS Sharon Cherrette

## <u>ABSENT</u>

STANDING COMMITTEES

Alaska Girls State Chair VACANT position Education and Scholarship Chair VACANT position Finance Debbie Lowndes Junior Activities Margaret Clausen Grim Past Presidents Parley Debbie Lowndes Public Relations Beverly Eads

UNITS

Jack Henry Unit 1 Seward Unit 5 Sitka Unit 13 General Buckner Unit 16 Robert G. Blair Unit 17 Minutes of the DEC Meeting June 25, 2020 Page 4 of 5

## **<u>ROLL CALL (continued)</u>**

#### ABSENT

Ninilchik Unit 18 Nome Unit 19 Gladys M Heintz Memorial Unit 27 Con Miller Unit 30 Chappie James Unit 34 Peter Heyano Unit 442

#### PAST DEPARTMENT PRESIDENTS

Ruth Brown Evelyn Oliver Betty Porter Jean Clayton Wilma Stokes Jill Pawson Beverly Eads Betty Bumala June Haas Lavonne Collier Etta Singleton Rehta Foster Francisca Guilford Barbe Wolkoff Laverne Kearns Lori FitzSimons Eva Aulston Carolyn Null Jean Shandy Lynn Bash Debbie Lowndes

### **READING OF COMMUNICATIONS**

There were no communications to be read.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no Old Business to come before the DEC.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

President Jane Larson explained that there were some changes to Department Officers and Standing Committee Chairs as a result of Yvonne Lamm's resignation. They are:

Department Officers		
1 <sup>st</sup> Vice President	Anarene Robinson	Unit 33
2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice President	April Sinclair	Unit 57
Standing Committee Chairs		
Membership	Anarene Robinson	Unit 33
VA&R	April Sinclair	Unit 57
Alaska Girls State Director	Lori Fruhwirth	Unit 11

Minutes of the DEC Meeting June 25, 2020 Page 5 of 5

**MOTION**: by Lisa Williamson (Unit 57) and seconded by Sue Waldhaus (Unit 28) to ratify the new officers for the 2020-2021 administrative year.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

**MOTION**: by Colleen Newman (Unit 35) and seconded by Sue Waldhaus (Unit 28) to ratify the new committee chairs for the 2020-2021 administrative year.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Sue Waldhaus asked if Von Lamm resigning her positions would affect Shelby Lamm remaining as the Honorary Junior President. Von Lamm has informed us that it will not.

## **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

Remember that the Fall Conference is October 2-4 at Spenard Post Unit 28. Everyone was asked to mark their calendars and to encourage members to attend. It is anticipated that the agenda will be ready by mid-July.

Zona Gregg (Unit 6) asked about visitation by the President this year. Jane noted that she is going to Fairbanks by car. She is willing to visit units on the road system. Any other travel will require knowing the stipulations for air travel before a decision is made. She is open for invitations even if she was able to visit a unit last year.

Sue Caswell (Unit 33) asked how to make out donation checks for Lisa's campaign. They should be made out to the Alaska Leadership Development and sent to the Unit 57 PO Box 74842, Fairbanks, AK

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the Department Executive Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 7:24 p.m.